Haters Gonna Hate

tattly_these_are_things_haters_web_design_01_grande This week I needed some advice on choosing a training course, I took to twitter to ask for advice, I got a really helpful response from everyone. Teachers are often really really lovely. That said, teachers are also often really horrible to each other and I wanted to write about it a little. This is just a rant, please don’t expect any kind of solutions in here, but with that said here is a sample  of haters you might just find in the ELT community. I wanted to swear a lot as this is a subject that makes me angry, but I probably shouldn’t as a kindergarten teacher. Parts of this post are in italics, these are good places for you to do your own swearing 1. The ‘just quit then!’ Living in a foreign country is difficult sometimes. Working is difficult sometimes. There are lots of  productive ways of coping. Going on internet fora and whinging probably isn’t a productive one. My biggest problem with these people is that it is really off-putting if you’re thinking about going to Korea (or anywhere) and all you read on some websites is that everything is awful, everyone is trying to fleece you and that you’ll be some kind of oppressed minority out here. A good deal of these posts are also borderline racist and very ‘if you’re not doing things my way, it’s wrong’. The thing that gets me about this type of hater is that they’re often abroad complaining for a really long time. Why not just leave? 2. The Belittler There’s an ELT Facebook group where this type of hater thrives. This is a person who for some reason gets a kick out of making others feel bad about their qualifications and/or their job (they also seem to like to hate on job postings) I really don’t need to go that much into why this makes you a not nice person.  I thought this was mostly an activity that was reserved for the Dave’s Waygookin Cafe’s of the world and nasty Facebook groups, but this week I read this on Nicola Prentis’ blog. I ended up reading all the comments of the blog post that I had missed last November, and the blog post that started it all. It turns out that The Belittlers have crept onto the blogosphere too. I don’t really know what business people have telling other people that they don’t deserve to be teachers. Shut up. 3. The fundamentalist It’s fine if you have your ideas about teaching but it’s a pain in the butt when people are too attached. It’s worse when people start telling each other that they’re wrong. There are quite a few people who will say that you can’t be a good teacher if you don’t teach dogme/TBL/extensive reading/only in English/to the test/stuff that isn’t in the test/courses around Western culture/courses that avoid Western culture/phonics/not phonics/etc. I’d really like it if people disagreed on stuff like this, gave their point of view and some persuasive reasons why they believe it. I’m a strong believer that the answer to most questions like these are ‘sometimes, depending on the circumstances’ so teachers should really stop being so nosey and let each other get on with things. Rant over here’s some Swifty: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfWlot6h_JM